Month: August 2019

First Lines Friday – 30/08/2019

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you have had a lovely week after the bank holiday on Monday (for some of us, anyway!)

I’m back again with my new regular fortnightly feature – First Lines Friday. If you want to sample something new without the bias of a front cover, then you have come to the right place!

Which book am I featuring today? Here are the first few lines from today’s featured book: –

 

First the colours.

Then the humans.

That’s usually how I see things.

Or at least, how I try.

 

Here is a small fact

You are going to die.

 

I am in all truthfulness attempting to be cheerful about this whole topic, though most people find themselves hindered in believing me, no matter my protestations. Please, trust me. I most definitely can be cheerful. I can be amiable. Agreeable. Affable. And that’s only the A’s. Just don’t ask me to be nice. Nice has nothing to do with me.

 

Reaction to the Aforementioned fact

Does this worry you?

I urge you – don’t be afraid.

I’m nothing if not fair.

 

Of course, an introduction.

A beginning.

Where are my manners?

 

 

 

This particular book has been on my reading list for a couple of years now. It’s one I see a good number of bloggers talk about too. I have only ever seen praise of it. It’s currently scoring 4.37 stars and has over 1.6 million ratings, so I’m confident this is one I am really going to enjoy getting around to!

Not only that, but the undercurrents of the WW2 setting definitely make this my kind of read!

Would you like to find out what it is?

 

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will be busier still.

By her brother’s graveside, Liesel’s life is changed when she picks up a single object, partially hidden in the snow. It is The Gravedigger’s Handbook, left behind there by accident, and it is her first act of book thievery. So begins a love affair with books and words, as Liesel, with the help of her accordian-playing foster father, learns to read. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever there are books to be found.

But these are dangerous times. When Liesel’s foster family hides a Jew in their basement, Liesel’s world is both opened up, and closed down.

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

What do you think of the introduction to The Book Thief? Have you read it? Added it to your TBR?

As always, I would love to hear from you!!

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Book Review: Maskerade – Terry Pratchett

I cannot believe it has been nearly four months since I finished reading Maskerade…but Goodreads doesn’t lie! If my review didn’t feel overdue before (which it did), then it certainly does now…

 

Maskerade

Goodreads – Maskerade

‘I thought: opera, how hard can it be? Songs. Pretty girls dancing. Nice scenery. Lots of people handing over cash. Got to be better than the cut-throat world of yoghurt, I thought. Now everwhere I go there’s…’

Death, to be precise. And plenty of it. In unpleasant variations. This isn’t real life – it’s worse. This is the Opera House, Ankh-Morpork…a huge, rambling building, where innocent young sopranos are lured to their destiny by a strangely-familiar evil mastermind in a mask and evening dress, with a penchant for lurking in shadows, occasional murder, and sending little notes full of maniacal laughter and exclamation marks. Opera can do that to a man.

But Granny Weatherwax, Discworld’s most famous witch, is in the audience. And she doesn’t hold with that sort of thing. So there’s going to be trouble (but nevertheless a good evenin’s entertainment with murders you can really hum…). And the show MUST go on.

 

My Thoughts…

I went into reading Maskerade with both a sense of excitement and a little worry. A Discworld novel with a plot focussed on performing arts should be right up my street. I really enjoyed the theatre (watching and taking part) growing up. Did you know I have a GCSE and A-Level equivalent in Performing Arts? You do now! For the very same reasons, I was really looking forward to reading Moving Pictures. Unfortunately though, that didn’t really live up to expectation.

Thankfully Maskerade finds itself in higher esteem. Not only did the tale centring on the Phantom of the Opera intrigue me, but it helps that this is a Witches story! I love Gytha Ogg and Granny Weatherwax – they never fail to make me laugh with their funny ideas of the way the world works and their meddling!

Of course, Granny Weatherwax made a great play of her independence and self-reliance. But the point about that kind of stuff was that you needed someone around to be proudly independent and self-reliant at. People who didn’t need people needed people around to know that they were the kind of people who didn’t need people.

Maskerade features a variety of characters, old and new. Together they’re a fantastic cast (pun intended!). The combination of new faces keeps things interesting whilst the already established and firm favourites deliver the wit and familiarity of the other Discworld novels.

I love how humorously Terry Pratchett writes his parodies. He has the ability to take any subject and make it hilariously enjoyable to read. The Discworld novels are so easy to pick up and put down at leisure. They’re probably one of the “lightest” reads I go back to time and again. If I’m having a bit of a slump or find myself bogged down in more complicated plotlines, these are always great books to turn to for relief.

Have you read Maskerade or any of the Discworld novels? What’s your favourite?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Blog Tour Review: Duality by K. J. McGillick

Hello friends and welcome to today’s blog tour post – a review of Duality by K. J. McGillick. I have been privileged to have taken part in a number of blog tours featuring her books. To date, I have read and reviewed Facing a Twisted Judgment, Karma Never Loses and Address and Trust Me from the Lies and Misdirection series.

 

Duality – K. J. McGillick

Goodreads – Duality

Two sides of the same coin. Completely alike. Completely different.

What started out as a normal art restoration project for Melinda Martin soon took on a life of its own. Could this unusual painting actually be a Botticelli masterpiece thought to have perished as part of Savonarola’s Bonfire of the Vanities? Had Melinda’s friend, Lana, a well-known art picker inadvertently acquired stolen art; art that might have ties to the occult and worth millions? Did a bad business decision endanger everyone who touched this potential treasure?

When the painting disappears and both women are found dead, the police think it’s an open and shut case. The husband – it’s always the husband. He had means, motive, and opportunity, and acted strangely cold after the fact.

Is it a case of mistaken identity? Does a secret relationship put Mr. Martin in the crosshairs of an assassin sent to retrieve the painting? Or is he really a sociopath forger with mysterious ties to the Vatican?

 

Purchase Links:  Amazon UK      Amazon US

 

My Thoughts…

I have really enjoyed reading the Lies and Misdirection series by K. J. McGillick. When the subject of art and Renaissance Italy was briefly included at in another book, Three (part of the Path of Deception and Betrayal series) I hoped that she would explore this in more detail. I’m interested in that period of history! Duality was the book I was waiting for.

I don’t want to give away a single thing about the plot, so I’ll keep it as vague as I can. What I really loved about Duality is the hook. The crime the gang end up embroiled in is very personal to all of them. Involving the characters we know and have come to love throughout the previous books of the series, there is a personal investment for the reader in discovering the truth.

Mary remains my favourite character to this day. She’s an entertaining character for her stubborn and interfering nature… and her refusal to admit that she is wrong sometimes. She is a real driving force in the narrative and lends a large dose of humour to the plot.

I read this book in a matter of days. The narrative is well written, as all K. J. McGillick’s books are for that matter. Some books feel like you have to make a conscious effort to work through, but the flow of the story and her writing makes it so easy to keep flipping through the chapters without keeping an eye on the time. They are also clearly well-researched; her knowledge of art and the legal practice shine through.

The conclusion – well, what can I say about that? It is so unlike any of the other books to date. I always enjoy seeing how the pieces of the puzzle fit together in the end. There are plenty of twists to keep you guessing what is going to happen next and who is behind it all! You will be shocked, that’s all I am prepared to tell you!

 

Author Bio –

K. J. McGillick was born in New York and once she started to walk she never stopped running. But that’s what New Yorker’s do. Right? A Registered Nurse, a lawyer now author.

As she evolved so did her career choices. After completing her graduate degree in nursing, she spent many years in the university setting sharing the dreams of the enthusiastic nursing students she taught. After twenty rewarding years in the medical field she attended law school and has spent the last twenty-four years as an attorney helping people navigate the turbulent waters of the legal system. Not an easy feat. And now? Now she is sharing the characters she loves with readers hoping they are intrigued by her twisting and turning plots and entertained by her writing

Social Media Links –

https://www.facebook.com/KJMcGillickauthor/

Kathleen McGillick

@KJMcGillickAuth

http://www.kjmcgillick.com/

https://twitter.com/KJMcGillickAuth

https://www.goodreads.com/Kmcgillick

 

Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary – 25th August 2019

It’s the end of another eventful week, so that means it’s time for my usual Sunday Summary post!

In order to get some more reading done, I decided to stick to a three-post week. On Wednesday I shared my review of Seventh Decimate by Stephen Donaldson. I picked up this first book of the series after receiving a copy of The War Within from Gollancz for review. On Friday I shared the next Shelf Control post. In this fortnight’s post, I featured a Stephen King novel. As a crossover into the fantasy genre, it could well have been the book that introduced me to his writing if another hadn’t beaten it to it.

 

Books Read

 

With the end of the month looming I have been really trying to get as much reading done as possible. I think my proudest achievement of the week was finishing Thran Book 1: The Birth by Brian McLaughlin. I’ve been reading this book concurrently with others over the course of the month and I am pleased to say I finished this epic.

Next on the list is The Fourth Victim by John Meads. I am taking part in the upcoming blog tour next month so I have made as much progress as I can in the past couple of days since finishing Thran. I had a very long session at the hairdressers yesterday and I managed to make a very good start on the book. I’m at 23% at the moment and it’s my priority read over the next few days! Fortunately, it’s a bank holiday tomorrow, so I am crossing my fingers that I’ll make a lot of progress then.

In addition to my scheduled books, I’ve also been reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. This is a loan from the library so I can’t set it aside for too long. I have around nine/ten days left and I am over halfway through the book, so I have some leeway. I’ll be setting it aside for a day or two to focus on The Fourth Victim, and then I’ll be back to business as usual.

Last but certainly not least, I have been listening to more of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. There have been a couple of nights driving home when it’s been more important to listen to the radio for traffic updates. We have another local motorcycling event on at the moment which closes the roads I drive home on.

 

Books Discovered

Absolutely nothing to report here this week, I’ve been good! Well, on the book-buying front anyway

 

Coming Up…

Next week’s blog material starts… tomorrow! I’ve already scheduled a book review for my blog tour post on Duality by K. J. McGillick, so look out for that!

A little later in the week, I am going to be gracing your screens (hopefully you’ll read it – pretty please?) with another book review from my backlog. This week, I’m going to be reviewing the last Terry Pratchett book I have read in the Discworld series, Maskerade.

On Friday it’s the turn of a First Lines Friday post, so I hope you can join me and see if you can guess this week’s feature.

 

Top Blog Posts of the Week

Anna of Kleve Queen of Secrets by Alison Weir

The Blogger Recognition Award Tag

Book Review: Wicked Fox

Examples of Good Book Qualities

The influence of opening lines and catchy beginnings

Who Am I? Book Tag

So, that’s all from today’s Sunday Summary post! What are you reading?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Shelf Control #5 – 23/08/2019

Welcome back to my regular feature post, Shelf Contol! Shelf Control is a meme run by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies – a weekly celebration of the unread books on our shelves! Pick a book you own but haven’t read, write a post about it (suggestions: include what it’s about, why you want to read it, and when you got it), and link up!

For more info on what Shelf Control is all about, check out Lisa’s introductory post.

Regular readers will know that I am using Shelf Control to look in further detail at the books I have added to the TBR and then listed as keepers in my Down the TBR Hole posts. I talk about why I want to keep the featured book; it also acts as a second sweep for anything that I may have changed my mind about. I won’t necessarily own all the books (yet), but I will have a reasonable number of them.

It’s week five, so let’s look at the next book on the TBR!

 

The Talisman – Stephen King

On a brisk autumn day, a twelve-year-old boy stands on the shores of the gray Atlantic, near a silent amusement park and a fading ocean resort called the Alhambra. The past has driven Jack Sawyer here: his father is gone, his mother is dying, and the world no longer makes sense. But for Jack everything is about to change. For he has been chosen to make a journey back across America–and into another realm.

One of the most influential and heralded works of fantasy ever written, The Talisman is an extraordinary novel of loyalty, awakening, terror, and mystery. Jack Sawyer, on a desperate quest to save his mother’s life, must search for a prize across an epic landscape of innocents and monsters, of incredible dangers and even more incredible truths. The prize is essential, but the journey means even more. Let the quest begin. . . .

 

My Thoughts…

The Talisman isn’t going to be the first fantasy novel I’ll read by Stephen King. I am already really enjoying The Dark Tower series! I have read the first two books, with the third sat on my bookshelf ready and waiting.

Although fantasy is my most-read genre, my first read of King’s wasn’t one of his fantasy books – it was The Green Mile. I confess that I have only picked up his books in the last couple of years; I wish I had sooner!

Regardless of genre, there is something compelling about his narratives that keeps you flipping the pages. I have listened to/read six of his novels so far, with more on my shelf to read in future.

Have you read any of Stephen King’s novels? What are your favourites?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Book Review Banner

Book Review: Seventh Decimate – Stephen Donaldson

In today’s post I’ll be sharing my review of Seventh Decimate by Stephen Donaldson. After receiving a copy of The War Within, the sequel from Gollancz, I picked up a copy of Seventh Decimate at my local library. I cannot read books out of a series out of order, so I grabbed my copy of this a month before I planned to read The War Within. Seventh Decimate and The War Within have turned out to be on totally different levels of fantasy… but more on that below!

 

Seventh Decimate

Goodreads – Seventh Decimate

The acclaimed author of the Thomas Covenant Chronicles launches a powerful new trilogy about a prince’s desperate quest for a sorcerous library to save his people.

Fire. Wind. Pestilence. Earthquake. Drought. Lightning. These are the six Decimates, wielded by sorcerers for both good and evil.

But a seventh Decimate exists–the most devastating one of all…

For centuries, the realms of Belleger and Amika have been at war, with sorcerers from both sides brandishing the Decimates to rain blood and pain upon their enemy. But somehow, in some way, the Amikans have discovered and invoked a seventh Decimate, one that strips all lesser sorcery of its power. And now the Bellegerins stand defenseless.

Prince Bifalt, eldest son of the Bellegerin King, would like to see the world wiped free of sorcerers. But it is he who is charged with finding the repository of all of their knowledge, to find the book of the seventh Decimate–and reverse the fate of his land.

All hope rests with Bifalt. But the legendary library, which may or may not exist, lies beyond an unforgiving desert and treacherous mountains–and beyond the borders of his own experience. Wracked by hunger and fatigue, sacrificing loyal men along the way, Bifalt will discover that there is a game being played by those far more powerful than he could ever imagine. And that he is nothing but a pawn…

 

My Thoughts…

Seventh Decimate is a classic coming-of-age tale and introduction to an epic fantasy series. Prince Bifalt has lived within the threatened borders of Belleger all his life. Constant skirmishes with their neighbours in Amika have been ongoing for generations. That is, until one day their magic is gone. Convinced Amika is responsible for their plight, Prince Bifalt sets out on a journey to restore their magic. He learns just how small a world he has been living in and that larger forces are at play…

Prince Bifalt himself is far from perfect. As the eldest son, he feels the pressure to perform his role and not fail his mission keenly. As the adventure unfolds the prince is plagued by self-doubt and a stubborn arrogance accompanying his birthright. He is ruled by honour and public perception dictates his behaviour a lot – and not always in a good way. Seventh Decimate has set him up so we can expect a lot of personal development from him.

In addition to Bifalt a number of colourful characters are met along the way, which introduces the wider plot for us as the reader.

Seventh Decimate is an enjoyable tale, however, compared to The War Within it’s a drop in the ocean. An introduction, really. I feel it deliberately mirrors the main character, Prince Bifalt and his experiences. Up until the end of book one, he is very small-minded about the world and his priorities. In book two he has a far larger weight on his shoulders. I’ll save the details for my review on The War Within though. I only mention it in passing to give an idea of how simplistic his character and plight is by comparison.

I think of Seventh Decimate as the prologue of the series, if I’m honest. Whilst the main action of the series will follow in later books, Seventh Decimate is an enjoyable opening narrative to the more complex plot of book two, and hopefully beyond.

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary – 18th August 2019

Welcome back to my blog and my Sunday Summary post everybody! Have you had a lovely week and a great weekend?

I decided to scale back my posting a little this week to three posts instead of four. I have a couple of lengthy books to read – as well as the two additional books I have picked up – a busy schedule! My first post of the week was published on Wednesday. It had been a little while since sharing an audiobook review. With Darkdawn being published next month, I figured a review of Godsgrave was due.

On Friday I shared a First Lines Friday post. This week’s post featured a dystopian classic currently on my reading list. I would imagine a few people have already read this book, willing or not at school. I’m aiming to make my way through all these books at some point.

 

Books Read

As with last week, I have a few books on the list in this Sunday Summary post. Throughout the week I have been reading Thran Book 1: The Birth. Last week I commented that I wanted to make more progress on it this week. I’m pleased to say I have. I’ve read a further 35% of the book, so if I can keep that pace up, I’ll have it finished in time for next week’s post!

The next book on my list is Duality by K. J. McGillick. I had not long started this book at the time of reading last week’s Sunday Summary post, but I finished reading it very quickly. I set myself the target of finishing it by midweek, and indeed I finished it on Wednesday!

In the middle of this week, I was feeling a little restless in terms of reading. I already had two books on the go and I wasn’t really in the mood. I wanted something different. A work colleague has recently read and loved Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, so I took inspiration from that and borrowed an e-copy from my library. It really isn’t my type of read but I have enjoyed the beginning so far. I’ve been dedicating the rest of the week to making progress on Thran, so haven’t got beyond the first 10% yet. It’s been easy and enjoyable to read so far, so I am going to stick with it!

I struggled to get into Six of Crows last week – I actively put off listening to the audiobook on the way home from work in favour of listening to the radio. I’ve been better this week and put about another hour or so into it. It’s picked up, I’m glad to say. I’m not giving anyone a lift into work for the next couple of weeks, so I’ll be able to listen to put more time into Six of Crows. I plan to make use of it now I’ve found the hook.

 

Books Discovered

I’ve been good and not spent any money on books, but I have added one book to the TBR this week. Take It Back has just been published by HarperCollins – it’s a courtroom drama in which four boys are accused of a horrific crime. Tackling racial divisions in society, I think this will prove an entertaining and enlightening read!

 

Coming Up…

If you want to know what posts are coming up in the next week, then you have come to the right place, my friends! With the amount of reading I have on, I have decided that I am going to stick to a three post week again.

In the usual format on these weeks, I’ll be sharing a book review on Wednesday. Earlier this year I received a copy of The War Within by Stephen Donaldson courtesy of Gollancz – the second book of the series. In order to catch up, I borrowed Seventh Decimate from my local library. This first book is the subject of my review. I hope you can check that out!

On Friday it is the turn of my regular Shelf Control post. For those who have not read these before, I feature a book currently on my TBR and tell you a little about it; why I want to read it and such. With this series in its infancy, I am still looking at some really old books on my list. I have found it useful though; it has encouraged me to pick one of these books up later this month!

 

Top Blog Posts of the Week

SPasciuti’s Blogger Review Feature – Reviewsfeed

Top Six Bookish Pet Peeves

#BookReview The Perfect Wife By J. P. Delaney #Thriller

So, that’s all from today’s Sunday Summary post! What are you reading?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

First Lines Friday – 16/08/2019

Happy Friday everyone! By all accounts, it is going to be a miserable one, but let’s try and make the most of it!

I’m back again with my new regular fortnightly feature – First Lines Friday. It’s a fun way to try something new, without the bias of a front cover or knowledge of the book before you read it!

So, shall we get on with today’s post? Here are the first few lines from today’s featured book!

 

 

A squat grey building of only thirty-four storeys. Over the main entrance the words, CENTRAL LONDON HATCHERY AND CONDITIONING CENTRE, and, in a shield, the World State’s motto, COMMUNITY, IDENTITY, STABILITY.

The enormous room on the ground floor faced towards the north. Cold for all the summer beyond the panes, for all the tropical heat of the room itself, a harsh thin light glared through the windows, hungrily seeking some draped lay figure, some pallid shape of academic goose-flesh, but finding only the glass and nickel and bleakly shining porcelain of a laboratory. Wintriness responded to wintriness. The overalls of the workers were white, their hands gloved with a pale corpse-coloured rubber. The light was frozen, dead, a ghost. Only from the yellow barrels of the microscopes did it borrow a certain rich and living substance, lying along the polished tubes like butter, streak after luscious streak in long recession down the work tables.

‘And this,’ said the Director opening the door, ‘is the Fertilizing Room.’

 

 

I’m fairly sure that this is one of those books you might have studied at school. I hated that. For all my love of books, I couldn’t abide pulling them apart and analysing them to death. Of Mice and Men and 1984 are books that I tortured with a pair of pliers my school years. I have re-read both of these books since leaving school and enjoyed them. It goes to show it’s not the books that are the problem – I really don’t think they were written to ensure that level of scrutiny. I certainly wasn’t made for it either…

Back to the book on hand! It’s a really well-known book and it falls under one of my favourite genre categories – dystopia. It’s been on my reading list for over a year and a half now. Do you want to find out what it is?

 

Brave New World – Aldous Huxley

Brave New World is a dystopian novel written in 1931 by English author Aldous Huxley, and published in 1932. Largely set in a futuristic World State of genetically modified citizens and an intelligence-based social hierarchy, the novel anticipates huge scientific developments in reproductive technology, sleep-learning, psychological manipulation, and classical conditioning that are combined to make a utopian society that goes challenged only by a single outsider.

What do you think of the introduction to Brave New World? Have you read the book or added it your TBR?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Audiobook Review: Godsgrave – Jay Kristoff

It’s been a couple of months since I reviewed an audiobook and nearly a year ago since I reviewed Nevernight. I was shocked to see that! I hadn’t realised it had taken me so long to listen to and now review Godsgrave! Since we are less than a month away from the release of Darkdawn, the next book of the series, I’m putting that right! So, without further adieu…

 

Godsgrave – Jay Kristoff

Goodreads – Godsgrave

A ruthless young assassin continues her journey for revenge in this new epic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff.

Assassin Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church ministry think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending Consul Scaeva and Cardinal Duomo, or avenging her familia. And after a deadly confrontation with an old enemy, Mia begins to suspect the motives of the Red Church itself.

When it’s announced that Scaeva and Duomo will be making a rare public appearance at the conclusion of the grand games in Godsgrave, Mia defies the Church and sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium for a chance to finally end them. Upon the sands of the arena, Mia finds new allies, bitter rivals, and more questions about her strange affinity for the shadows. But as conspiracies unfold within the collegium walls, and the body count rises, Mia will be forced to choose between loyalty and revenge, and uncover a secret that could change the very face of her world.

Set in the world of Nevernight, which Publishers Weekly called “absorbing in its complexity and bold in its bloodiness,” Godsgrave will continue to thrill and satisfy fantasy fans everywhere.

 

My Thoughts…

As with Nevernight, Godsgrave is narrated by Holter Graham. I’m a sucker for consistency. It wouldn’t matter how good a narrator someone else is, it wouldn’t be the same. There is something about the way that he narrates these books that bring each character into life.

Itreya opens up beyond Godsgrave and the Red Church, introducing us first-hand to new places throughout the Republic. This expands from the lore already introduced by way of commentary throughout the book. As with Nevernight, the details and world-building are blended seamlessly into the narrative. Jay Kristoff does a fantastic job of touching upon details already explained to aid understanding without repeating it constantly and making the listener feel stupid.

The Republic, its structure and politics are more complex than ever. To put herself in a position to avenge her familia, Mia must endure months of intense training and risk her life on the Sands. Her determination is unrivalled, though she isn’t without the upper hand. Being Darken has its advantages, as well as raising a lot of questions. The darkness around Mia and her need for revenge is exciting. She is ruthless and will do whatever it takes to achieve her goals.

I often think that she is so consumed with revenge that she will have no drive once she’s fulfilled her purpose. Will this change in Darkdawn? Who can say? Well, we will find out soon, won’t we?!

Whilst I’m not optimistic, a real part of me refuses to accept some of the events that have happened in the books so far. I’m secretly hoping that things are not as they seem, but I’m not counting on it. The books are certainly on the end of darker fantasy and the current way of things reflects that nature.

Have you read or listened to Nevernight or Godsgrave? Are you excited for Darkdawn?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary – 11th August 2019

Welcome back to another Sunday Summary post! Yes, the weekend has come to a close once again. Doesn’t it fly? I hope you have had a good one, whatever you have been up to!

In addition to my reading this week, I’ve also been sharing a variety of bookish related posts. On Tuesday, I undertook another review of the TBR in my latest Down the TBR Hole post. It didn’t turn out to be all that successful in terms of reducing the list, but it was still good fun to look at this list all the same.

On Thursday I reviewed a book I initially read back in May, Sword Song by Bernard Cornwell. I am really enjoying this historical fiction series. By all accounts, I shouldn’t get on with Uhtred’s character, but you cannot help but like him… faults and all!

Friday was the turn of my regular Shelf Control post. Rather than just one book, this week’s post featured three! I’ve read the first trilogy of this series so far, however, with three following books published and one final one yet to be published, I still have a bit of reading to do with this one!

 

Books Read

I’ve dipped in and out of several books this week. I have spent the week reading parts of a long fantasy novel, Thran Book 1: The Birth. As this is a long and detailed read, I think it’s the type of book that I’ll be chipping away at in between other reads rather than binge reading. I’m about a quarter of the way through the book so far, although I am hoping to make more progress on it in the next week.

I’ve also been dipping in and out of reading The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle throughout the week. I finally finished this last night and… wow! The story was so complex! Who knew so much could happen in one day? I knew  this murder mystery was portrayed in several perspectives, but I didn’t expect them to jump around as much as they did. If I had tried to read it faster I would have lost the plot. Don’t get me wrong, it worked, but if you’re not paying attention then you just end up mind-fucked. It deserves the 5* rating I’ve given it, but I’m glad I took my time unravelling the story. I realise that for many 6 days wouldn’t really fall under ‘taking ones time’, but yeah.

On Saturday evening I started my current read, Duality by K. J. McGillick. I’m glad to be back with a number of familiar characters and another, totally unique art theft case. The undercurrents and history of Renaissance art vs Religion is really interesting and I can’t wait to discover more about it as the team work to unravel the case! I’ve managed to read just over a quarter of the book already. I imagine I’ll have this read by mid next week at this rate!

After your results on my Twitter poll last week, I made a very meagre start on listening to Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. For one reason or another, I only ended up listening to this on the way home from work one day this week.

 

Books Discovered

The only addition I have to the list this week is a cute little sample my mum got for me! Whilst she was out shopping last week she was offered a sample of One Minute Later by Susan Lewis. Knowing my obsessive reading, she took it and has given it to me this afternoon. Thanks mum!

 

Coming Up…

Since I am free of blog tours and other commitments next week, I have totally free reign as to what I share with you. As I mentioned in last week’s Sunday Summary post, I have a few reviews to catch up on. To that end, on Wednesday I’ll be sharing my review of an audiobook I listened to AGES ago now – Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff.

Later in the week, I’ll be sharing another First Lines Friday post (no prizes for guessing when that goes live). As always, it’s as much a mystery as to which book I’ll be featuring at the moment, but I’ll figure it out closer to the time!

 

Top Blog Posts of the Week

Okay, so confession time. I’ve been really bad and not read any blogs this week. I’m really sorry – I’ll be back on it next week. I promise!

What have you been up to this week? What books are you reading?

 

 

signature

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads